Issues of the Heart… and dirty diapers?

Do you want to know one life skill I’ve learned from being in a big family? I learned how to change a diaper. Fast. And notably well, if I do say so myself.

When my mom had my little brother, I, at seven years, was absolutely elated to begin caring for that little blob of flesh. Excited and eager(and may I say, just an inkling ignorant), I began my training… the training that would bring to where I am today. A seasoned pro, an expertise, and a no-longer-excited big sister!

It’s not longer a thrill for me. I no longer BEG my mother to let me change the diapers. Over the years, diapers have grown into a disgusting part of a child’s life and I despise changing them with a burning, loathing passion!

But it needs to be done in order for the child to stay clean and healthy.

My mom will be the first one to tell you how I hate this plague of diaper changing. Over and over and over, I’ve forgotten, sometimes chosen, not to change my sister’s diapers just because I didn’t want to. Over and over and over, my mom has given me the same speech: You need to change her diaper or she’ll get a rash. And over and over and over, I haven’t listened.

When my mom goes out, she’s leaving my sister and I home with the kids. That makes us in charge of keeping the house from catching fire, not letting Charity go on the roof, and changing both of the babies’ diapers. Phew! Now you know why I don’t get too much time to blog. Anyways, most of the time we’re both distracted with separate entertainments, and totally forget to change diapers… until we smell something. Ugh, please no. This is when the battle begins. Understand this, both my sister and I hate changing diapers. So, when the both of us hate it, but are on call for it, conflict strikes. Politely asking the other to change it, while trying to stay occupied with our petty distractions, is our go-to escape plan. However, we’ve both slowly figured out that it doesn’t work.

And while an argument brews, that poor child sits with a stinky, probably developing a rash by the minute. But I won’t submit… neither will my rival, who just so happens to need to use the restroom most of the time, leaving me down stairs with all the rascals, including the stinky one. Naturally, I choose to stay on my high horse and pretend not to smell the need, and close my eyes to my sister’s anguish-filled expression.

That’s when Mom gets home.

Busted.

“Did diapers get changed?” she asks, as always.

“Ummm… I don’t know.” I answer, as always.

And then a lecture follows when she founds out neither girls had gotten their diapers changed. Call me irresponsible, call me immature. But that’s what happens.

Until one day, Jesus shook his head, frowning.

“C’mon, God. It’s not that big of a deal,” I justify my faulty cause. I cringe. What a pathetic human I am. I know what I’m supposed to do, and yet I choose not to because… I hate changing diapers. That’s reason enough, right?

Not to the Lord.

“… whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.”

~1 Cor. 10:31~

* * *

“Serve the Lord with gladness…”

~Psalm 100:2~

Ouch. But let’s take a step back. Changing diapers isn’t directly connected to serving the Lord, is it?

“…whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.”

Double ouch. So it is. Now, watch this. After I realized that I should be serving the Lord as I minister to my sisters, a great revelation really, I did something that I never thought would be possible. I changed my sister’s diaper right when I noticed she needed one. BOOM. I’m basically the goal for every Christian girl ever…

Not.

When my mom came home, I was ready for her to ask if diapers were changed, so I could proudly exclaim, “Yes ma’am!”, get a pat on the back, and win some dark chocolate!

But the expected question never came. Neither did the praise or the chocolate. And I cracked inside. Where was my thanks? My praise? Why weren’t people falling to my feet and telling me how amazing and responsible I am? I felt used… deceived. As if Jesus just wanted me to do what I hate, and watch me suffer for fun. But then, He revealed this to me. Jesus said this about the hypocritical, lying, thieving Pharisees.

“For they loved the praise of men more than the praise of God.”

~John 12:43~

Triple ouch. This sounds just like me. My attitude. My heart. My selfish, self-centered, self-obsessed self. When I didn’t want to change my sister’s diaper, I was being selfish. After I did change it, I was being selfish. Because obviously, humans are all naturally that way. However, Christians are called to a different destiny.

We are called to place others before ourselves, to lay down our liberties for others, and to serve for the glory of God. Not for the glory of self. Not for the glory of our kind, giving heart, our responsible-ness, our willingness to serve. Our heart’s goal as Christians is not to do good works so that others will see what a good person you are! It should never be about us. And if it is, our heart is not fully entrusted to the Lord. When Jesus, the Lord of the universe,  came down from Heaven, did he magnify Himself for all to see and know who He was? Nope. He came humbly, constantly magnifying and glorifying His Heavenly Father. That is what we as Christians should strive to do.

Now you see, younglings, this is how issues of the heart tie together with changing diapers. Maybe I’ll never get thanked for changing another diaper for the rest of my life. Or maybe no one will pat me on the back and say, “Thanks, Jazzy!” when I do the dishes. Or when I clean my room. Or when I publish a blog post. But that won’t bother me. It shouldn’t. Because I’m not washing dishes for those kind of remarks, and I’m not writing for the praise of man, but for an audience of One. Y’all just so happen to have stumbled upon it on this lovely day.

Be that as it may, I’d like to challenge you. Think of one thing you must do, but despise doing, and apply 1 Corinthians 10:31 to it. It’ll change the course of your day.

Love, Jazzy

One Reply to “Issues of the Heart… and dirty diapers?”

Leave a Reply

