The Encounter

Today I though it would be fun to share with you a story a wrote a while back. It’s rough(and I mean really rough), unfinished, but I thought it was interesting, and I hope you will too!

0298e1f4b40ffd2e34250e695b9dce1c

•The Encounter•

One night, in the bare hours of twilight, when the moon was shimmering in its lustrous ivory glow, a young mad huddled inside a cave– away from the turbulence of the storm just outside.

Jack’s green eyes twinkled from the blazing flares that licked around the fire pit and hissed as drops of water tasted its heat. He lifted his weather-worn hands to the flames and the warmth comforted his weary bones. Sluggishly taking up the remains of his food supply, he emptied the content into his mouth, satisfying the hunger that had gnawed obstinately at his belly for the last couple days.

Having finished the last of his meals for the next part of his journey, he leaned back on his bundle. He traced the opposite wall with his eyes, until he was looking right out the cave entrance. The rain fell heavily, but, apart from the haunting cry from the heavens, the weather was the same as always: wet and dreadfully gloomy. Just as he had always learned to live with.

Suddenly, breaking the silence he had quickly come accustomed to, a low moan sounded from the opening of the cave. He immediately jerked his head up, vigilant and disposed for a bout. He steadily watched for movement, but to no avail. A quiet overthrew the sound of beating rain and buzzing wind. Silence screamed in his ears and he could barely stand it.

He remained this way– still, silent, ever listening– for some time. Then, without warning, something appeared in the entrance of the cave. It stumbled in, dripping black water and taking no heed unto the other occupant of the cavern.

Jack watched in alarmed curiosity, although, truth be told he was amused. Observing the form as it hunched over, he could almost laugh at the fact that he was indeed looking at a human. A young man, he guessed. Compared to Jack’s well-built physique, he assumed a weaker vessel as he stood crouching. The man still seemed unaware of his presence.

At last, after several minutes of awkward silence, Jack took a breath and to the young man he said, “H-hello.” With all kindness he could muster from his tired body, he hoped he had spoken those words with nothing shy of harshness.

Jumping back, the youth, startled from the voice a few yards away, groped his side for his knife. His eyes were wide and his expression was afraid. Jack held up his hand imploringly, “I meant no offense to take you off your guard. I only didn’t want to further frighten you…” Then with an unmistakable chuckle, he said, “I guess that didn’t help a smidgen. What’s your name, son?” 

After recovering himself from the scare, the stranger snorted and tilted his chin upward, looking at Jack with an expression of disgust. “You ask my name? The impertinence! I should be obliged if only you leave me alone… barbarian.” He added the last word with extra heat in his glare.

Shocked at the man’s frankness, Jack demanded, “I am in no case for a quarrel, man. Remove this lack of chivalry at once!”

“You speak to a proud man, a great man of riches and glory… I listen to no one. Especially not a lowly swine as yourself.”

Indeed his is proud, Jack thought. “Are you purposed to anger the guiltless in life? Your bitter tone is strikingly bold and is bound to bring you few comrades.” The anger in the pit of his belly swelled and he felt himself stand erect, ignoring his muscle’s protests.

“Hardly so,” the younger man replied. He looked Jack in the eye, fire reaching from his pupils and a strange red color seeping through his irises. “You are an insolent fool, one who’s folly will cost you much.”

“Are you issuing a threat as well, my fellow man? You are the one committing the folly, for a man calling one a barbarian for attempting engagement in civil conversation is pure futility! Where has chivalry journeyed so far to?”

“I should never know. Perhaps you can tell me, infectious swine.”

▲▼▲

And that’s it! I know, it was a bad place to end, but that’s all I have written in my notebook. Wonder if I should continue writing it… anyways, I hope you liked it, if you have any thoughts please feel free to comment below! I love to hear your voices. 😉

 http___signatures.mylivesignature.com_54494_265_F0FE4A955F894144F0378AA7515F1857

About Jazzy Belle

I believe in dreams. I believe in smiling. I believe in Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Encounter

  1. Abrupt ending, yes; I’d definitely like to read a sequel to this. And learn more about Jack. Seems like a great start to a larger story=) One thing: “a young mad huddled” – is supposed to be man, right?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jazzy Belle says:

    Heyya, Fantasy Raconteur, thanks for reading! Yeah, it was supposed man… Thanks for the feedback!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. My pleasure, Jazzy! Glad I discovered your blog=)

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sarah Grace says:

    Yay Jazzy! I found your blog again! 😀
    This was actually really good! I liked it! I love the “old English” way they talk. 🙂
    Looking forward to reading more of your blog! God bless you Jazzy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

