A Time To Die- book review/blog tour!

the-rise-tour-blogger-banner-1I’m so, so honored to be able to participate in The Rise Blog Tour! I’ve heard a lot about these books, so when I heard she was doing a tour… I basically freaked out to say the least. x) I will admit, I read this book a few weeks ago… and have read books since then, so you know how it is. Read a book, LOVE it, then read another book… LOVE that book too, and then suddenly… you’re not as excited about the first book anymore. That’s where I’m at with this review, and I apologize for that. Even so, I hope you enjoy!


my-review-5

atimetodiecov

Available:

amazonbn-iconevxyrjm7_400x400goodreads-iconlogo


my-review-3

How would you live if you knew the day you’d die?

Parvin Blackwater has wasted her life. At only seventeen, she has one year left according to the Clock by her bedside.

In a last-ditch effort to make a difference, she tries to rescue Radicals from the crooked justice system. But when the authorities find out about her illegal activity, they cast her through the Wall — her people’s death sentence.

What she finds on the other side about the world, about eternity, and about herself changes Parvin forever and might just save her people. But her Clock is running out.


my review (2).jpg

nadine-early-release-2

Nadine Brandes is an adventurer, fusing authentic faith with bold imagination. She never received her Hogwarts letter, but rest assured she’s no Muggle (and would have been in Ravenclaw House, thank you very much.)

This Harry Potter super-nerd has been known to eat an entire package of Oreos (family size) by herself, and watches Fiddler on the Roof at least once a year. She writes about brave living, finding purpose, and other worlds soaked in imagination. Her dystopian trilogy (The Out of Time Series) challenged her to pursue shalom, which is now her favorite word (followed closely by ‘bumbershoot’.)

When Nadine’s not taste-testing a new chai or editing fantasy novels, she and her knight-in-shining armor (nickname: “hubby”) are out pursuing adventures.

Go visit Nadine on her WebsiteNewsletterFacebookInstagram, & Twitter!


my-review-1

As I already stated, I’ve heard a lot about these books. Fellow bloggers, Goodreads friends, and the like. Little did I know when I first began the journey, that this book would leave my world shaken for weeks.

Although book-hangers are not uncommon for me, this was a different kind. This was an I-CAN-NEVER-MOVE-ON-I-NEED-THE-NEXT-BOOK-OR-ELSE-I’M-GONNA-DIE type of book-hangover. The worst part? I DIDN’T HAVE THE NEXT BOOK(still don’t, actually).

66d5055f48de118e9e369344cd67ea5d

Okay. Let’s begin with the review already. ABANDON THIS ADO!… let the activities commence!

PLOT

Oh. My. Goodness. I was not prepared to meet with such an amazing, unique, storyline.

At first, the only thing I could feel was depression. I was depressed because the first chapters are about her looking for a cool way to spend her last months, and she has no idea what she wants to do.  Parvin wasted 17 years of her life; how can she possibly redeem the time within mere months?

Then, mind blown. 

The whole story plummets (literally) into a hopeless-yet-hopeful adventure. Wow. That sounds cliche. BUT IT’S ANYTHING BUT CLICHE.

I really liked the idea with the Clocks, it was unique and added quite a touch to the novel. Obviously, to me the whole idea with the time being futuristic was enthralling. Although, there were some parts where I wished she would use more description, but that’s just me… being me. -_- *cough*

I loved the mystery of the world beyond the Wall, and those who lived there. It was an engrossing element in the book that drove a portion of the plot to perfection. 😉

Of course, like any well written book there were twists, turns, and just when you think you might hit a zig, Nadine takes you on a zag. I was constantly on edge, wondering, waiting.

In a nutshell, this book’s plot line hit home for this gal! 😀

CHARACTERS

Parvin Blackwater is not your common female protagonist. In her own way, she was determined and strong, but at the same time, weak and afraid. It’s complicated. She’s a complicated character, which just makes her realistic.

Although, she’s not the strongest Christian, her faith is what keeps her going. She’s constantly asking the Lord for guidance, signs, and just to guide her and keep her. Her faith in her Clock is just as resolved. She knows how many days she has left, so come what may, she ain’t dyin’ until those numbers zero-out.

Although I love Parvin, she’s an amazing protagonist, I can’t relate to her as much as I’d like to. Maybe it’s just me, maybe it’s just her, but we’re just not two peas in a pod- WHICH IS NOT  A BAD THING. I can love her and support her without being like her!

I loved her brother Reid. Although he had a smaller part in the book than other characters, essentially he had one of the biggest… if you take a step back and think about it. The whole idea with he and Parvin’s illegal activity was THRILLING to say the least. It was so complex and scary and ah! There was so much surprise and mystery within just that simple fact.

I loved the relationship between these two. Parvin and Reid had the perfect balance of strife and affection that all sibling relationships have.

In so many ways, Reid was different compared to Parvin. Unlike his sister, he had everything put together. He know what he wanted, and how to get it. Between the two, he would be considered the more successful one… and all that because of motives that even Parvin was ignorant of. Oooo! One of the many mysteries to be answered!

And Jude.

He was a special kind of male character. He wasn’t all that kind, and he wasn’t all that patient, to say the least. In the end, you know all was meant for good, but throughout the book he’s… not very nice, while at the same time being nice. He’s like Parvin that way- complicated. Of course, he was awesome. Nadine would be a cruel author to make him stern without being in one sense awesome. And although he doesn’t show it, beneath all his grim characteristics, you know is a fluffy marshmallow!

*blinks* Anywho. His relationship with Parvin is just as simple as his techy implants and tattoo. In other words, not simple in any way shape or form! Neither of them know what to think of the other, what to do with the other, and what to feel for the other. It’s kind of funny, actually.

And then there’s Willow, the darling of the book. Head-strong, determined, and adorable, she basically wins you over within the first chapter she comes in. 🙂 There were parts when you want to cry for her, then parts where you want to cheer for her. Out loud. But then you stop yourself because that would make you seem absolutely crazy and mentally challenged.

HAWKE. Solomon Hawke. Now this dude was a lovely character. His compassion and concern was just amazing. I mean, he made up for all the characters who lacked. Even though he had such a small part in the book, that didn’t stop him from making himself known as the kindest person alive. AH! I love this guy, y’all.

And lastly, the antagonist. I won’t mention names for the sake of mystery (eek!), but let me just say: WHAT. NO.

Yep, the villain is that kind of bad guy. Drives me crazy, but I love what they did to the plot. 😉

THINGS

Okay, so some things to point out: there are several gory scenes, a small thread of romance(hardly even there, but still there), and a HORRID ENDING… if you don’t have the next book, of course. 😉 Cliff hangers kill me.

the-questions

There ya go! I hope you enjoyed reading this review. 🙂

Go check out the books in the links above, stalk Nadine Brandes on social media(also above), and don’t forget to like and comment below!

Plus, follow the countdown for the release of the final book in this trilogy, A TIME TO RISE! 

Tally-ho!

screenshot-2

Let’s be frands on Goodreads! [click the image to view my profile]

Jazzy xoxo

About Jazzy Belle

I believe in dreams. I believe in smiling. I believe in Jesus Christ.
This entry was posted in book reviews, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Time To Die- book review/blog tour!

  1. daleenc says:

    Wow! This sounds super interesting! So adding it to (the top of) my To-Reads on Goodreads!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jazzy Belle says:

    Yes! Do it! It’ll change your life. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

