book review | deadly proof

add on goodreads

In the biggest case of her career, attorney Kate Sullivan is tapped as lead counsel to take on Mason Pharmaceutical because of a corporate cover-up related to its newest drug. After a whistleblower dies, Kate knows the stakes are much higher than her other lawsuits.

Former Army Ranger turned private investigator Landon James is still haunted by mistakes made while serving overseas. Trying to forget the past, he is hired by Kate to look into the whistleblower’s allegation and soon suspects that the company may be engaging in a dangerous game for profit. He also soon finds himself falling for this passionate and earnest young lawyer. 

Determined not to make the same mistakes, he’s intent on keeping Kate safe, but as the case deepens, it appears someone is willing to risk everything–even murder–to keep the case from going to trial.

my review – 3 

Let’s just get this really straight.

This book was really interesting. 

Probably won’t read it ever again, or read any more from this author…. but that’s not saying the book wasn’t good. Because it was! It just really wasn’t my gig. 

The story is about a lawyer who is working on this really big case that could alter her entire career and the lives of so many other people. It was INTERESTING and I did feel INVESTED in this novel because I WANTED TO SEE THE ENDING.

I just…. it just…… mehh?

It wasn’t my thing and that’s fine. All the lawyer stuff, and legal information, and all that technical stuff was COOL. I was very impressed by the author to have included so much and with such detail, because it wasn’t an easy storyline to build off of without all of it. BUT THE THING IS, that stuff really doesn’t interest me. It was cool to read, I feel like I learned a lot just by reading that book, what with the procedures in a case study and courtroom things. But at the end of the day, I just want something that I don’t have to push through as if it were almost like a textbook if you know what I’m saying? It just wasn’t the easiest read, IT WASN’T BAD. IT WAS ACTUALLY REALLY GOOD. But when it comes to reading, especially since I am still in school, I would have picked up a faster paced, less informative novel, I guess.

Not that information is bad. I like information, just… not in this kind of novel?? I GUESS?? This is complicated trying to explain. Because I did like the storyline, it was very interesting, and I liked the characters. But like. All the lawyer-y stuff just kind of ………. eH.

As for the characters, I appreciated Kate for being real. I’ll be honest, I wasn’t really expecting Kate to be very interesting, just because the plot seemed to almost overrule the characters in this book just slightly, but I do believe the author did an okay job with letting Kate shine. Just enough. I liked that she was relatable with her crazy life and depression. It gave a motive to her actions and I liked that a lot. She did grow through the book, she became a stronger woman, even though I thought she was pretty strong already in the beginning. I felt like she was too perfect at some moments like EVERYONE ever kept on telling her how kind-hearted she was, how selfless she was, or how she needs to think more about herself or money and blah blah blah. Those moments when the author really made that point to say SHE’S PERFECT AND EVERYBODY, YOU’RE ALL SCUMBAGS. I was like………. yea no.

BUT OTHER THAN THAT, YEA, KATE WAS PRETTY OKAY. 

I felt like Landon took so long to come to terms with himself. He was an interesting character because I feel like he took sooooo long to grow, but then he did, but then he didn’t. And it was just idk kind of jumbled almost. Like, he did grow, and I enjoyed watching that happen, it made me very happy. But then he still was like, struggling after everything had happened and it was ALMOST like nothing had changed. And idk it was rough. He was cool, though, just not the coolest dude in the fictional world. But still cool.

Kate’s relationship with Landon was one of the most interesting parts in the book, just cuz. You got to see more of their characters open up and it was less focused on the case. I loved their chemistry and how everything was like… slow, but not slow at all. IT WAS GOOD. I was very satisfied in the end.

Speaking of the end, I kind of cringed at the conclusion. Well, not the conclusion-conclusion, but like the answer to all the problems. It just all seemed kind of… cheesy for some reason. I just, I have no idea. It didn’t feel realistic. Suddenly I was watching a kid cartoon and the bad guy was found and then all this totally cliche stuff happens and then everyone gets a happy ending.

It was a very forgettable ending that really… didn’t make me care for the book as much. Because I actually was sort of kind of almost in my own way enjoying the book! But then the ending happened and I was just like… uhm, alright then? IT WAS WEIRD. I was totally let down with the ending and I wasn’t surprised and I wasn’t thrilled that the whole problem was solved BECAUSE IT DIDN’T FEEL SOLVED. It was just awkward.

MY THOUGHTS OVERALL? I enjoyed it to an extent. There were some parts where I really like it and I just couldn’t stop reading… and then there were parts where I was like, ok yada yada let’s get stuff done. But I mean, it wasn’t a bad book. Not the best book, but not like the WORST THING OUT THERE. If you like mystery or lawyer-y books lol, this might be something you might want to consider reading. It was an intersting plot line, over all. JUST MY THOUGHTS.

Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment